Canfield Fair: Patrick Havas identified after crowd confrontation at Acton stop; weapons lists and charging status still conflict
ANALYSIS · Sep 6, 2026 incident
Slug: canfield-fair-acton-incident
Primary sources
Fetched and used. Items marked “not retrieved” were sought and are not treated as verified text.
-
Just The News (assignment story, both URLs). Same article, not a separate update. Headline: “Police ID man who allegedly lunged at Ohio Dem governor candidate, say he was armed with two pistols.” Published Sept. 6, 2026, 6:51 p.m.; updated Sept. 7, 2026, 4:44 p.m. (page timestamps; zone not stated). By Just the News staff. https://justthenews.com/politics-policy/elections/armed-individual-lunges-ohio-democratic-governor-candidate-canfield-fair and https://justthenews.com/index.php/politics-policy/elections/armed-individual-lunges-ohio-democratic-governor-candidate-canfield-fair
-
Acton campaign press release, Sept. 6, 2026, Addie Bullock, communications director. https://actonforgovernor.com/acton-campaign-statement-on-incident-at-canfield-fair/
-
Associated Press, “Armed man charged toward Democratic candidate for Ohio governor at fair, law enforcement says.” Attributes a statement to the Ohio State Highway Patrol and a separate recovery line to the Mahoning County Sheriff’s Office. https://apnews.com/article/election-2026-ohio-acton-attack-92abb7d809134b43630e01e25b3b9125
-
Mahoning County Sheriff’s Office statement, reprinted in full or near-full by Mercer County Outlook (posted Sept. 7, 2026) and quoted by the Tribune Chronicle. The Outlook text uses “this afternoon,” which places the statement on the day of the incident (Sunday, Sept. 6), not on the blog date. Original sheriff social post was not retrieved from the sheriff’s own channel. https://mercercountyoutlook.net/2026/09/07/mahoning-county-sheriff-updates-acton-incident/ and https://www.tribtoday.com/news/local-news/2026/09/man-arrested-on-assault-charge-at-acton-event-at-canfield-fair/
-
Gov. Mike DeWine statement, as published by the Shelby Daily Globe and quoted by the Tribune Chronicle. Governor’s own site page was not retrieved. https://www.sdgnewsgroup.com/news/governor-dewine-issues-statement-on-incident-at-canfield-fair/article_babce019-191d-4845-b9e4-09fc4790c16e.html
-
Ohio Attorney General Andy Wilson statement, distributed as “Statement From AG Wilson on Incident in Canfield,” time-stamped Sept. 7, 2026, 01:06 GMT (Sept. 6, 2026, 8:06 p.m. CT / 9:06 p.m. ET). Wire-service copy, not the attorney general’s own web page. https://www.einpresswire.com/article/940219738/statement-from-ag-wilson-on-incident-in-canfield
-
Tuesday court reporting, Sept. 8, 2026 (day of this brief). NBC News (says it obtained an incident report); WLWT (names Judge Molly Johnson and defense lawyer J. Gerald Ingram); WFMJ; Spectrum News 1. These are news accounts of a Mahoning County appearance, not the docket itself. No case number was retrieved from Mahoning eCourts.
Not retrieved, so not cited as primary text: Ohio State Highway Patrol newsroom page for this incident (no matching release found on statepatrol.ohio.gov); Canfield or Canfield Fair police release; Mahoning County court docket or jail roster; the incident report NBC says it obtained; Acton security video; Havas phone video; Sen. Jon Husted’s X post (quoted only as carried by AP).
Core Tension
The public record does not yet support one settled story of what happened, what he was carrying, or what he has been charged with.
Campaign language, issued the afternoon of the incident, says an “armed individual lunged at Dr. Acton, injuring multiple people,” and that “this kind of violence has no place in Ohio.” That is a campaign characterization. It is not a charging document, a medical record, or a finding that a weapon was used.
Law enforcement, as carried by AP and by the sheriff’s office, describes a man identified as Patrick Havas, 38, of Canfield, pushing or forcing his way through a crowd at the Mahoning County Democratic Party tent at the Canfield Fair at about 2:30 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 6, 2026, while Dr. Amy Acton was speaking, and two people being knocked to the ground. Troopers on her security detail confronted him. The sheriff’s office says Canfield Fair police took him into custody. Both the sheriff’s office and later court reporting say no weapon was brandished or removed from a holster.
The weapons inventory is not settled. The Highway Patrol, via AP, said a Taser and two pistols. The sheriff’s office said two handguns and a set of “brass knuckles.” NBC, citing an incident report it says it obtained Tuesday, lists two handguns, brass knuckles, and a Taser. WLWT reported that investigators described a set of “brass knuckles” later found to be a Taser. This brief does not pick among those lists.
Charging status moved after Just The News last updated. JTN, updated Monday evening, Sept. 7, says he was booked on disorderly conduct and two counts of assault and had not been formally charged. That matches the sheriff’s Sunday statement that detectives would file charges after consulting the prosecutor, and AP’s report that online court records did not yet list the case Sunday night. On Tuesday, Sept. 8, NBC, WLWT, and WFMJ reported a not-guilty plea to four counts: two of assault, one of disorderly conduct, and one of inducing panic. WFMJ says prosecutors added inducing panic on top of the booked counts. No weapons count is described in those accounts. A plea is not a conviction. Injury severity is not in the official record retrieved here: two people were knocked down; NBC says the incident report says they were treated on scene and released. No diagnosis, hospital admission, or named-victim injury description was retrieved.
Do not treat “lunged,” “attack,” “attempted violence,” or “political violence” as established facts. Those words appear in campaign and elected-official statements. Motive and the suspect’s political affiliation are not in the official records retrieved for this brief, and are not stated here.
The full Analysis comes with membership: what the document does, the claims check, and what to watch. Become a member or sign in. Founding members (first 100): $30 the first year, then $50/yr.